- Communication Builds Our Community

3 LW Schools Earn 5-Star Honors


Last updated 2/20/2019 at 7:03pm

Three Lake Wales Charter Schools were among 21 schools in Polk County recognized recently as Five Star School award winners by the Florida Department of Education. Dale R. Fair Babson Park Elementary School, Hillcrest Elementary School and Polk Avenue Elementary School were among about 700 schools statewide to receive the honor for the 2017-18 school year.

The Five Star School award honors schools for exemplary community involvement and their commitment to incorporating family and community members into the school environment to enhance student learning. Statewide, over 700 schools earned the recognition.

Polk Avenue Elementary

In order to qualify for the Five Star School Award, a school must meet 100 percent of the criteria in five categories: Community/Business Partnerships, Family Involvement, Volunteerism, Student Community Service and School Advisory Council. Schools must also earn a grade of C or above, or a school improvement rating of Maintaining or Commendable for the year being recognized.

Nearby schools recognized that serve some Lake Wales area families were Chain of Lakes Elementary, Dundee Elementary Academy and Dundee Ridge Middle Academy.

The rest of 5 Star Polk County schools include: Bartow Elementary Academy, Bartow High School, Boswell Elementary School, Brigham Academy, Fort Meade Middle-Senior High School, George Jenkins High School, Jewett Middle Academy Magnet School, Jewett School of the Arts, Lakeland Highlands Middle School, Lawton Chiles Middle Academy, Lincoln Avenue Academy, Pinewood Elementary School, Scott Lake Elementary School, Socrum Elementary School and Winston Academy of Engineering


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 01/16/2022 17:17