Communication Builds Our Community

Polk County Democratic Executive Committee Announces Election of Officers

Lake Wales Woman to Chair Committee

The Polk County Democratic Executive Committee organizational meeting & election was held Monday, Dec. 7 via the ZOOM online platform and also live on Facebook.

Elected to serve as the 2020-2022 Board Officers include: Catherine Price, Chair; Veysel Dokur, 1st Vice-Chair; Jiwa Farrell, 2nd Vice-Chair, Polly Burkhart, Secretary; Norman Wilderson, Sergeant-At-Arms and Cindy Ransbottom, Treasurer. Also elected to serve from 2020-2024 were Karen Welzel, State Committeewoman, and Miles Carr, State Committeeman.

Price praised outgoing Chair Katherine Sutherland, MD, for the substantial growth and progress of the Polk County Democratic Party under her leadership.

"Moving forward, the Polk County Democratic Party will be recruiting and grooming a diverse field of political candidates with the leadership skills necessary to lead Polk County out of the current COVID crisis; provide support to business owners, unemployed Floridians, healthcare and public education workers; protect our precious, fragile Florida environment; and, stand for equity and justice for all Floridians," Price said. "The initial focus will be on Polk County municipal elections as we prepare for gubernatorial and U.S. Senate races in 2022. We have elected a strong Executive Board, and I look forward to working with this great team over the next two years."

Polk County Democrats are holding virtual events and select office hours following strict CDC guidelines at 1553 S. Combee Road in Lakeland. Current information can be found by visiting their website at Information is available on Facebook at, on Twitter at, and Instagram at The can be reached by calling 863-668-7199 or emailing [email protected].


Reader Comments(0)