Communication Builds Our Community

Charter School Superintendent Search Enters Next Phase

Search Committee Narrows Field to Ten in Second-Round

The long-vacant position of leadership at the helm of the Lake Wales Charter Schools is a step closer to be filled after the Superintendent Search Committee reduced the original field of applicants to a list of favorites.

The opportunity to lead the acclaimed school system, one of the only community-based charter conversion systems in the nation, generated significant interest. The search for applicants, advertised nationally, drew a field of twenty-five, representing eleven states. Fifteen held doctorate degrees. Applications for the position closed on November 17, allowing the ten members of the search committee to select their favorites.

The search now enters a new phase as ten of the original 25 applicants have been selected to advance to the next round in the selection process. (Editor's Note: Since the initial publication of this story, one applicant has withdrawn.)

The remaining applicants have been asked to submit answers to five questions. Three must be provided in video responses, and two in a written format. Those responses are due no later than 5:00 on December 16, which will allow the committee time to review all ten applicant responses before their next meeting on January 10.

After the Search Committee receives the responses they will also be posted on the website portal so that the public may review them.

At the January meeting the Search Committee will identify semi- finalists from this group before scheduling ZOOM Interviews on January 20, 2022.

The remaining viable candidates for the position include five from Florida, two from Louisiana. and single candidates from Ohio and Kentucky. One currently works for the Lake Wales Charter Schools, and another for the Polk County Schools System. Seven hold doctorates, and at lest one expects to complete that degree this year. Several mention fund-raising acumen.

Of the five women included in the initial pool, two have advanced to the second round.

In the order in which their original applications were received, the remaining candidates are Dr. Andrei Ghelman, Mr. P. J. D'Aoust, Dr. Wayne Rodolfich, Dr. Ronald Iarussi, Dr. Brian Rau, Dr. Andy Oguntola, Dr. Emilean Clemons, Mr. Anuj Saran, and Dr. Peggy Aune.

The 10-member search committee consists of Al Goldstein (Chair), Dr. Linda Ray, Shelli Jacobs, Rob Quam, Roxanne Anderson, Father Tim Nunez, Angela Pulido, Mike Settle, Abigail Skipper, and Lindsey Seay.


Reader Comments(0)