Lake Wales Youth Football Receives Dyer Difference Award and $3,000

Funds Will Be Used to Support Youth Sports for Area Kids


Last updated 8/25/2022 at 6:22pm

Courtesy Ilena Luts

Dyer General Manager David Dlugokecki presents the Dyer Difference Award to Lake Wales Youth Football League Coach Michael Smith.

The Lake Wales Youth Football League, which sponsors the Lake Wales Steelers teams, has been selected as the recipient of the Dyer Difference Award for August.

The Lake Wales Football League provides healthy, educational, fun to up to 600 participants each year between the ages of four and 15. Whether they are learning about first downs and defense or how to encourage and support a team as a cheerleader, children who participate in the Lake Wales Youth Football League are exposed to a healthy and productive environment.

Steelers Football teams serve hundreds of area children.

Each month, members of the Dyer family and Dyer Kia and Dyer Chevrolet team meet to review the applications which have been submitted and select one non-profit organization to receive that month's recognition and $3,000 award. The August Dyer Difference Award recognizes the hard work of the coaches and the volunteers who help make Lake Wales Youth Football League a place where learning is fun and leaders are developed.

The Lake Wales Youth Football League encourages teambuilding, learning leadership skills, creating connections and relationships, and learning how to both win and lose with a healthy attitude and a real appreciation for the game of football – and the game of life, too.

For the members of the Dyer team, it's all about helping to make a positive difference in the community. For the recipients, it's an acknowledgement of their tireless efforts to do the same and a much-needed financial boost to help further their missions. If you'd like to nominate a non-profit organization from Polk County for the Dyer Difference Award, please visit


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 03/01/2024 17:40