Communication Builds Our Community

Leadership Polk Class XIV Welcomes 18 Members

Polk Vision welcomed 18 members of Leadership Polk Class XIV on Thursday, Sept. 17 at the Lone Palm Club.

As the only countywide leadership development program in Polk County, Leadership Polk is comprised of individuals who have demonstrated a high level of civic engagement in their local community. Started in 2007, the program brings together accomplished leaders from across the county with the goal of developing a diverse network of resourceful, informed and proactive visionaries committed to building a more vibrant future for our county.

The 10-month program immerses participants in an inspiring and enlightening curriculum that examines critical issues that impact our region. Leadership Polk is timely, topically relevant, dynamic, and exposes participants to a broad range of perspectives through site visits, facilitated conversations and experiential learning. Most importantly, lasting relationships are forged with engaged leaders from across Polk County.

Below you will find the list of the individuals who have been selected for this exciting journey.

Leadership Polk Class XIV Members

Tonya Akwetey – Healthy Start Coalition, Yolunda Bell – Polk State College, Rick Bernard – CPS Investments, Alis Drumgo – City of Lakeland, Barbara Erickson – Harrison School of Arts, Julie Fife – Pok County Board of County Commissioners, Brittany Hart- City of Winter Haven, Michelle Henne - Relevé Sports Medicine, Jee Kim – City of Aurburndale, Vance Monroe - Polk County Sheriff's Office, Alice Nuttall – Lakeland Regional Health, Alex Price - Central Florida Development Council (not pictured), Morica Reinsch - Able & Willing Small Engine Repair, Marybeth Soderstrom – Central Florida Regional Planning Council, Dr. Shandale Terrell - Polk County Public Schools, Valerie Tillmon - Springer Construction, Michelle Yodonis - Polk County Clerk of Courts.

MJ Carnevale, Leadership Polk Class IX graduate and City of Winter Haven Public Works Director, will serve as Chair for Class XIV.

For more information visit


Reader Comments(0)